Follow

Restore iTunes Backup

  1. Select your device at the left side and press Restore Backup
    Restore1.PNG
  2. Now a popup screen appears. By default most recent backup is selected.
    Press the small arrow at the right side to select an earlier backup.
    Restore2.PNG

iTunes backs up this information, which will be overwritten when restoring!

  • Camera Roll (photos, screenshots, images saved, and videos taken)
  • Contacts and Contact Favorites
  • Calendar accounts and subscribed calendars
  • Calendar events
  • Safari bookmarks, cookies, history, offline data, and currently open pages
  • Autofill for webpages
  • Offline web app cache/database
  • Notes
  • Mail accounts (mail messages aren't backed up)
  • Microsoft Exchange account configurations
  • Call history
  • Messages (iMessage and carrier SMS or MMS pictures and videos)
  • Voicemail token (This isn't the voicemail password, but it is used for validation when connecting. This is only restored to a phone with the same phone number on the SIM card)
  • Voice memos
  • Network settings (saved Wi-Fi hotspots, VPN settings, and network preferences)
  • Keychain (includes email account passwords, Wi-Fi passwords, and passwords you enter into websites and some apps)
    If you encrypt the backup, you can transfer the keychain information to the new device. With an unencrypted backup, you can restore the keychain only to the same iOS device. If you're restoring to a new device with an unencrypted backup, you need to enter these passwords again.
  • App Store app data (except the app itself, its tmp, and Caches folder)
  • App settings, preferences, and data, including documents
  • In-app purchases
  • Game Center account
  • Wallpapers
  • Location service preferences for apps and websites you've allowed to use your location
  • Home screen arrangement
  • Installed profiles
    When you restore a backup to a different device, installed configuration profiles aren't restored (such as accounts, restrictions, or anything that can be specified through an installed profile). Any accounts or settings that aren't associated with an installed profile will be restored.
  • Map bookmarks, recent searches, and the current location displayed in Maps
  • Nike + iPod saved workouts and settings
  • Paired Bluetooth devices (which you can only use if restored to the same phone that did the backup)
  • Keyboard shortcuts and saved suggestion corrections
  • Trusted hosts that have certificates that can't be verified
  • Web clips
Powered by Zendesk